wzjag9bahpstesuyz995Introducing a new segment from Lit to Lens…Sunday Trailer Reviews!

Each Sunday we are going to share our thoughts of the most intriguing movie or television trailers released during the week. This is just a little something to keep you guys, and us, up to date with new projects being released in the near future.

Let’s get it going.

Arrival

Highly anticipated new film from director Denis Villeneuve (Prisoners, EnemySicario). He must be a really big fan of one-word titles. The film is based on the short story by “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang, where an expert linguist, Louise Banks (played by Amy Adams) is recruited by the US government after alien spacecraft land at different locations all over the world. It’s Banks’ job to figure out why they’re here.

My initial reaction is utter excitement. Based on the visuals, the film looks to be enveloped in a dark, mysterious and ominous atmosphere, which is exactly what Villeneuve is known for. This is the type of science fiction film that gets my blood flowing because of the way its shot, and keeping its relation to reality. It looks real and it feels real. Based on my experience with Villeneuve’s films, this film should be good, very good.

Interest Level: 5/5

November 11, 2016

Allied

To be completely honest, I have not heard much about Allied. I saw, only a few days ago, that it was a movie coming out this year with Brad Pitt and Marion Cotillard. Directed by Robert Zemeckis (Cast Away, Forrest Gump, Back to the Future series), the story is about two lovers who find each other during the height of World War II in northern Africa, while each on their own dangerous missions.

With the talent behind this film, it feels like it could be good. Oscar contender? Maybe, we’ll see.

Interest Level: 3.5/5

November 23, 2016

Moonlight

Another one I haven’t heard much about, but absolutely floored me when I watch the trailer. Based on the play In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue, it’s the story about one boy’s struggles with finding himself while growing up. The story is told in three different chapters of the boy’s life. From the trailer, it appears the story is going to grapple themes of sexuality, violence, toxic parental relationships, and more. Aside from the story the cinematography stands out to me the most, visually interesting.

Sign me up.

Interest Level: 5/5

October 21, 2016

Complete Unknown

Directed by newcomer Joshua Marston, and starring Rachel Weisz and Michael Shannon, this story is about a woman who constantly changes her identity in order to avoid feeling trapped. The film seems to take off when Weisz runs into an old flame, Shannon, at a dinner party.

I feel like it’s been too long since Weisz was last relevant. I’m not sure what she’s been up to, but I’m glad she’s back. This could be another indication of Weisz having a big year in 2016, with also performing in The Light Between Oceans, a sure-fire Oscar contender. Could Weisz be in for a pair of Oscar noms? It appears she gunning for it.

Interest Level: 3.5/5

August 26, 2016

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I want to say one thing to the American people. I want you to listen to me. I’m going to say this again. I. Am. Not. A. Star Wars nerd. These allegations are false. And I need to go back to work for the American people.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Star Wars, but I’m not obsessed with Star Wars. Just like everyone else in the galaxy, I was very excited about Episode VII last December. And because I thoroughly enjoyed that film, I am very excited for this film as well.

It’s the story of Jyn Erso, played by Felicity Jones, who is recruited by the Rebellion in order to help steal the plans for the Death Star.

Interest Level: 4.5/5

December 16, 2016

That’s it for this week, check back next Sunday for more trailers! Comment and let us know what you think of these trailers, or what films you’re excited to see this year.

L2L

 

